Winners Named In 6 Village Elections


All candidates were reelected in the villages of Great Neck Estates, Great Neck Plaza, Kensington, Russell Gardens, Saddle Rock and Thomaston on Tuesday, March 19, as four mayors, two trustees in each village and two village justices were on the ballot in the uncontested races.

Great Neck Estates

The mayor, two trustees and the village justice were up for reelection, all for four years each, based on the new local law, which increased the mayor and trustee terms from two years to four as of November.

Incumbent Mayor William D. Warner received 61 votes and will serve for a third term. Trustee Jeffrey Farkas received 60 votes and will also serve for a third term. Trustee Ira D. Ganzfried earned 63 votes and will serve for a second term. Judge Harry S. Burstein, who previously served two terms of four years each, plus a partial term in 2011 when Judge Harold Hoffman passed away, garnered 60 votes. Marc Seidenberg received one write-in vote for mayor and one for trustee.

Great Neck Plaza

Gerry Schneiderman, who has served as a trustee for 18 years, received 60 votes, and Lawrence Katz garnered 63 votes, earning them each another two-year term as trustees. Neil Finkston, who has been Village Justice since 2010, received 69 votes for another four-year term.


Incumbent trustees Alina Hendler, who has served since 2001, and Darren Kaplan, who has been in office since 2013, each received 26 votes, earning them another two-year term.


Russell Gardens

Deputy Mayor/Trustee David M. Miller, who has been on the board for five two-year terms, was elected for a two-year term as mayor with 174 votes. Trustee Martin Adickman, received 178 votes, earning him a ninth two-year term. Trustee Jane Krakauer garnered 175 votes and will serve for a sixth two-year term.


Saddle Rock

Dan Levy was reelected as mayor, with 122 votes, and David Schwartz and Mark Collins were reelected as trustees, with 105 and 106 votes, respectively. All three will serve two-year terms.




Steven Weinberg will remain as mayor with 25 votes, and Jill S. Monoson and Burton S. Weston will retain their trustee seats, with 25 and 26 votes, respectively. Each will serve two-year terms.

Elections for the villages of Great Neck, Kings Point and Lake Success will be held on Tuesday, June 18. Look for candidate details in an upcoming issue.


Leave a Reply