Town Officials Sworn In At Inauguration

Supervisor Judi Bosworth is sworn in by Tom DiNapoli.

North Hempstead Town Supervisor Judi Bosworth, Town Clerk Wayne Wink and Council Members Lee Seeman (District 5), Viviana Russell (District 1) and Angelo Ferrara (District 3) each took their official oath of office during an inaugural ceremony at Clinton G. Martin Park on Jan. 7.

Bosworth was administered the office ceremony by New York State Comptroller Tom DiNapoli, and sworn in for her third two-year term.  She welcomed new County Executive Laura Curran and Town of Hempstead Supervisor Laura Gillen to the ceremony and spoke about how she is looking forward to working with them.

Supervisor Judi Bosworth speaks to a packed audience.

“One of the most exciting things about being reelected last November was the fact that I am not the solitary woman leader in Nassau County government any longer,” said Bosworth. “Maybe it had something to do with that Wonder Woman movie last year. But, it’s going to be girl power in 2018. If anyone still doubts if a woman can run government, let me just say, ‘We got this.’”

Bosworth detailed some of the accomplishments of the past year, which included the town’s AAA rating, increased openness and transparency, ethics reforms, a new anti-nepotism law, Tobacco 21 legislation and the establishment of the Not In Our Town anti-hate initiative.

Town Clerk Wayne Wink is sworn in by District Court Judge William Houser.

“I have my sights set on implementing even more initiatives that will continue to transform our town into one of the best places to live, work and raise a family,” said Bosworth. “This includes the redesign of North Hempstead Beach Park, a reeducation campaign about the town’s recycling program, safeguarding the town’s drinking water and aquifers and adding millions of dollars to the Capital Plan for road repaving and sidewalk repairs.”

Town Clerk Wayne Wink was sworn in by District Court Judge William Houser for his second four-year term.

Councilwoman Lee Seeman is sworn in.

Council Members Seeman, Russell and Ferrara were sworn in for four year-terms. Seeman, who was first elected to office in 2005, was sworn in for a fourth term; Russell, who was first elected in 2009, was sworn in for her third term; and Ferrara was sworn in for a fifth term, after being elected to the Town Board in 1997.

Councilman Angelo Ferrara is sworn in.


The ceremony included the Presentation of Colors by the New York State Court Officers Ceremonial Unit from Nassau County, the Pledge of Allegiance led by the North Hempstead Veterans Advisory Committee, the National Anthem performed by Vladlena Volodkevich and Minsun Kim. Spiritual leaders included Reverend Father Robert Romeo from Saint Mary’s Roman Catholic Church who delivered the invocation, Rabbi Robert Widom from Temple Emanuel who offered a blessing and Dr. Isma Chaudhry from the Islamic Center of Long Island.

Councilwoman Viviana Russell is sworn in.

See highlights from the ceremony at or watch North Hempstead TV (NHTV) on Channel 18/63 on Cablevision or Channel 46 on Verizon FIOS.

Leave a Reply