Three Villages Hold Elections


mayor(Editor’s Note: Following the last date to file a petition to run for office, the Great Neck Record contacts each village clerk/treasurer for the candidates list. We ask the village to contact each candidate for a photograph, short biography and statement of purpose in running for office. Not all villages or candidates comply. In the coming weeks, we will publish all such election materials.) 

While the villages of Great Neck, Kings Point and Lake Success will all hold elections on Tuesday, June 17, at this point, no contested elections are anticipated. Petitions were due by 5 p.m. on Tuesday, May 13, and there were no challengers. However, in last June’s Village of Great Neck election for mayor and two trustee positions, although there were no contesting petitions filed, last-minute challengers for mayor and two trustees came forward as write-in candidates.

Village Of Great Neck
In the Village of Great Neck, trustees Norman Namdar and Barton Sobel are running unopposed. Sobel is running for re-election. Namdar was appointed to a vacant trustee spot last year and is now seeking election to that spot. Trustees serve two-year terms.
Elections in the Village of Great Neck are Tuesday, June 17, from noon to 9 p.m. Again this year all Village of Great Neck residents vote at Great Neck House, 14 Arranadale Avenue.

Village Of Kings Point
In the Village of Kings Point, the mayor and two incumbent trustees are running. Mayor Michael Kalnick is running for re-election, as are trustees David Harounian and Sheldon Kwiat. The mayoral and trustee terms are two-year terms.
Elections in the Village of Kings Point are Tuesday, June 17, from noon to 9 p.m., at Kings Point Village Hall, 32 Steppingstone Lane.

Village Of Lake Success
In the Village of Lake Success, the mayor and three trustees are running fo election. Mayor Ronald Cooper is running for re-election, as are trustees Fred Handsman and Steve Lam. Alan Mindel is running for his first term as a trustee, replacing Paul Glantz who is not running for re-election. The mayor and trustee terms are all two-year terms.
Village of Lake Success elections are Tuesday, June 17, noon to 9 p.m., at Lake Success Village Hall, 318 Lakeville Road.

Leave a Reply