Public School Staff Granted Tenure


Upon the recommendation of the superintendent, the Great Neck Public Schools Board of Education has granted tenure to three administrators and 20 teachers.

Board President Barbara Berkowitz called the granting of tenure a “very big deal here in Great Neck.” She joined with the candidates’ gathered families and friends to “acknowledge, celebrate and applaud their accomplishments.” She said that the candidates had “exceeded the toughest standards.”

Superintendent Teresa Prendergast “strongly recommended” each candidate, having first met individually with each one. She said that the candidates were recommended for their “hard work, standard of excellence and innovations.”

Principals and administrators spoke on behalf of the candidates they were recommending for tenure, expressing common themes: Candidates are passionate about their work, they bring out the best in their students and they engage their students and help them love to learn.

Administrators granted tenure were North Middle School Assistant Principal Nancy Gunning, Kennedy School Assistant Principal Kathleen Murray and Director of Community Education Samantha Tarantola.

North High School teachers awarded tenure were Cara Accardi (business education), Erin Lee (ENL–English as a New Language), John-Paul Mannebach (social studies) and Jennifer Nastri (speech/language).

At North Middle, Lauren Ferguson (science) and Savannah Puca (special education) were granted tenure.

Kristen Campanelli (special education) and Kathleen Malone-Sparaccio (reading) were granted tenure at South High School.

South Middle School teachers granted tenure were Lindsay Cheng (special education), Sivan Erstein (psychologist), Maria Giannopoulos (foreign language) and Brian Pernice (science).

At Baker School, Deanna Bausch (literacy coordinator) and David Cheng (psychologist) were granted tenure.

Connor Heaney (special education) at Kennedy and Lindsay Krellenstein (speech/language) at Lakeville School were granted tenure.

Granted tenure from Saddle Rock School were Jacqueline Klein (special education) and Melanie Weingarten (speech/language).

At Parkville School, Dara Gelb (special education) and Kaitlin Grubb (speech/language) were granted tenure.

Leave a Reply