National Merit Scholarship Commendations


Thirty-seven seniors in the Great Neck Public Schools have been named Commended Students in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program (NMSP). To achieve this honor, they placed among the top 5 percent of the more than 1.6 million juniors who took the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

North High’s Commended Students are Andrew Abrudescu, Patrick Gao, Julia Goldsamt, Erica Levy, Victoria Liu, Scott Rothbaum, Leila Shirian, Joseph Taied, Katie Tropp-Levy, Aaron Young and Judy Zhang.

South High’s Commended Students are Aram Baghdassarian, William Ban, Rachel Brenner, Sarina Chan, Heidi Chang, Ava Chen, Shaminta Hamidian, Aren Kalash, Ashley Koo, Jin Mo Ko, Allan Lee, Joshua Lee, Jessalyn Li, Olivia Lundelius, William Peng, Adam Pramberger, Haley Raphael, William Ren, Bradley Sheen, Christine Suh, Warner Tsang, Shrinath Viswanathan, Benjamin Weber, Jaysen Zhang, Josephine Zheng and William Zheng.

Each Commended Student received a Letter of Commendation in recognition of exceptional academic promise. Although Commended Students do not continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships, some become candidates for scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses.

“The young men and women named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” a NMSP spokesperson said. “They represent a valuable national resource. Recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation.”

Leave a Reply