Merit Scholars Win $2,500


From left: Assemblyman Anthony D’Urso honored National Merit Scholars Yoel Hava, Isabella Mirro and Joshua Rothman with Assistant Principal Daniel Kurtz.

Three recent Great Neck North High School grads, Yoel Hawa, Isabella Mirro and Joshua Rothbaum, were recipients of National Merit $2,500 Scholarships.

Yoel Hawa

Founded in 1955 and sponsored by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, the National Merit Scholarship Program is a privately financed academic competition for recognition and scholarships. The National Merit $2,500 designees were chosen from more than 15,000 finalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Isabella Mirro

The number of winners in each state is based on the state’s percentage of the nation’s total graduating seniors. Winners are selected based on academics, the difficulty of their course work, scores from two standardized tests, contributions to school and community activities, written essays and school recommendations.

Joshua Rothbaum

Scholars may use their award at any regionally accredited U.S. college or university. High school students enter the Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), typically in their junior year.

Leave a Reply