Great Neck Public School Staff Granted Tenure


The Board of Education, upon the recommendation of the Superintendent, recently granted tenure to 34 teachers and six administrators in the Great Neck Public Schools.
Board President Rebecca Sassouni called the granting of tenure a “very big deal here in Great Neck” and acknowledged the rigorous process of review, oversight, and professional cultivation required to achieve this career milestone. President Sassouni also expressed the Board’s commitment to the continued professional growth and ongoing development of tenure candidates and all educators across the District.

Elementary tenure. (Contributed photos)

Over the course of two public meetings in June, Board trustees joined with the candidates’ gathered families and friends to acknowledge, celebrate, and applaud their accomplishments. Administrators spoke on behalf of the candidates they were recommending for tenure, expressing common themes: candidates are passionate about their work, they bring out the best in their students, they engage their students and help them to love to learn.
“Our goal is to cultivate and nurture an environment of learning in which high-quality teaching is expected and recognized as the highest standard of excellence,” explained Superintendent Dr. Teresa Prendergast, who strongly recommended each candidate having first met individually with each of them. “The hard work and dedication of these individuals to the children of this District is more than commendable.”

At the Board meeting on June 1, tenure was granted to 14 teachers at the elementary level: Sara Renee Covino, Julie Goldin and Cindy Lipper at Baker School; Patrick Kennedy, Lindsay Koonin, Alexandria Lambraia, Rachel Sudran and Nicole Zupa at Kennedy School; Meagan Baker and Danielle Cangialosi at Lakeville School; Maureen Miller at Parkville School; and Gabriella Duke, Christina Morisco and Bryan Patterson at Saddle Rock School. Additionally, E.M. Baker principal Dr. Michael Grimaldi, Saddle Rock principal Luci Bradley, and Saddle Rock assistant principal Sara Goldberg were awarded tenure as administrators.

Secondary tenure.

At the Board meeting on June 15, tenure was granted to 20 educators at the secondary level: Kimberley Bliss, Lauren Frenz, Jeanne Kuhner, Arielle Panzarino, Katherine Russo and Sanaz Yadegar at North Middle; Kelly Backus, Mariuca Ganz, Jennifer Hill, Catherine Sagevick, Jecelyn Scauzillo and Angela Valli at South Middle; John Reynolds, Jennifer Sixsmith, Marlese Swarsen and Denis Villacorta at North High; Jacob Friedman, Lynn Harkins, Francis Miata and Gina Russo at South High. Additionally, South Middle principal Dr. Gina Cartolano and assistant principals Leonard DiBiase and Ryan Nadherny were awarded tenure as administrators.
—Submitted by the Great Neck Public School District

Leave a Reply