GNPS Staff Granted Tenure


The Great Neck Public Schools Board of Education, upon the recommendation of the superintendent, granted tenure to 12 teachers.

Board President Barbara Berkowitz explained how in some districts, tenure is granted with a simple note to the candidate. In Great Neck, she told the group, the granting of tenure is a “celebratory event as we reflect on the rigors of your probationary period. You are recognized at a board meeting with your principal making remarks on your behalf. We have read how hard each candidate worked and this evening, we join with your family, friends and colleagues in congratulating you.”

Superintendent Dr. Teresa Prendergast said, “Each candidate is highly deserving. I have met them, one-on-one, felt their exuberance and heard their expectations and wonderful experiences. We expect these high-quality teachers to continuously improve as they grow in their profession.”

Principals who made remarks recommending their candidates echoed common themes: These teachers are passionate about teaching, they bring out the best in their students, and they engage their students and help them to love to learn.

North High teachers awarded tenure were Amy Ford for special education and Laura Kachmar for science.

North Middle teachers granted tenure were Zachary Boyt, the mathematics department chair; Lisa DiLorenzo for special education; Arielle Murdocco for vocal music; and Stefanie Oddo for science.

Gala Handler, foreign languages department chair, was granted tenure at South High.

South Middle teachers granted tenure were Erin Keys for special education and Marlene Ramos-Velita, foreign languages department chair.

On the elementary level, these teachers were granted tenure: Jean-Marie Reader at Lakeville School, Catherine Faraone at Parkville and Jamie Hackman-Moghadam for remedial reading at Saddle Rock.

Tenure for all these candidates was effective Sept. 1, 2016.

Leave a Reply