Commissioners Reelected, New Alert Officers Selected


Three uncontested commissioner elections—in the Great Neck Park District, Great Neck Water Pollution Control District (GNWPCD) and Manhasset-Lakeville Water District—were held on Tuesday, Dec. 11.

Robert A. Lincoln, Jr., will serve a seventh term as Great Neck Park District commissioner.

Robert A. Lincoln, Jr., was reelected to a seventh term as park commissioner with 295 votes. The lifelong Great Neck resident, who was first elected commissioner of the park district in December 2000, will begin the three-year term on Jan. 1, 2019.

“I feel humbled that the community continues to support me,” said Lincoln. “Next year will be busy for the park district. We are developing a long-range plan which will include public input and a survey. And, we are about to launch a new program designed to alleviate the shortage of commuter parking spaces. I am excited that I will be part of all this, plus our regular activity.”

GNWPCD Commissioner Steve Reiter was reelected to a third term.

Steve Reiter, a Great Neck resident for 42 years, was reelected to the GNWPCD Board of Commissioners for a third term with 183 votes. He will be starting his three-year term on Jan. 1, 2019.

“I want to thank everyone who helped, supported and took the time to vote for me this past week,” said Reiter. “I look forward to continuing to serve the residents of the district and working with the district’s staff and my co-commissioners to keep the district a model of economic and environmental sustainability. Thank you all for placing your faith in me once again.”

Brian J. Morris, Sr., was reelected to a fourth term as a commissioner of the Manhasset-Lakeville Water & Fire District.

Brian J. Morris, Sr., a former Manhasset-Lakeville Fire Department chief, was reelected to a fourth term as a commissioner of the Manhasset-Lakeville Water & Fire District with 189 votes.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank the residents who voted in the Manhasset-Lakeville Water District election on Dec. 11. Even though I ran unopposed, I am grateful to have the support of the taxpayers,” said Morris. “The current board is very committed to the capital improvement projects for the residents. I look forward to serving you for another three years with the current board and will continue to focus on the safety of the residents of our community, while providing the volunteer firefighters with what they need to protect the community.”

A new chief, officers and trustees were elected at the Alert Fire Company during the holiday season.

A new chief, officers and trustees were elected at the Alert Fire Company on Friday, Dec. 7.

James E. Neubert is the new chief; Raymond Hoey became first lieutenant; and Roger Beltran was reelected second lieutenant. New company officers include Aloysius Hoey as president, Michael Zalesky as vice president and Irving Munda was reelected treasurer. Each will serve for one year.

New trustees are Michael Lang and Ronald Campbell, who was reelected. Trustee positions are held for three years.

The newly elected Alerts join First Assistant Chief John Purcell, Second Assistant Chief Carlos Gallo, Captain Francisco Valladares, Recording Secretary John E. Baumann, Financial Secretary Bradley Meier and on the  Board of Directors: Chairman of the Board Michael Green and Trustees William McGirr and Zachary Lobodzic.

Leave a Reply