Board Of Education Student Delegates Introduced

Student delegates with Board of Education President Barbara Berkowitz, Vice President Donald Ashkenase and Trustees Donna Peirez, Rebecca Sassouni and Jeffrey Shi; Superintendent Dr. Teresa Prendergast; and Assistant Superintendent-Secondary Dr. Stephen Lando (Photo by Irwin Mendlinger)

Great Neck Public Schools Board of Education student delegates, representing the district’s secondary schools, were introduced to the community at the board meeting on Oct. 23. These non-voting delegates, selected by their schools, are encouraged to express opinions about educational and student matters, voice school issues or concerns and take pertinent board agenda items back to their schools.

Board President Barbara Berkowitz explained that after the board speaks, delegates may speak on matters of importance before members of the audience are invited to speak. Berkowitz also thanked the students for their service and for volunteering their time to represent their schools at board meetings.

North High student delegates are Kelly Chau, Alan Chau, Lance Hakimian and Joseph Harooni.

Delegates from South High are Perry Choo, Daniel Moon, Katelyn Pramberger and Lauren Wong.

The Village School delegate is Maxwell Silverstein.

Delegates from North Middle are Mia Carrillo, Joshua Picker and Sahar Tartak.

South Middle School student dele-gates are Grace Fong, Dana Kagan and Malina Khan.

The board has been in the vanguard regarding student participation in school affairs, initiating student delegates in 1975, a practice New York State did not require until 2005.

Leave a Reply