Best In Music Education Award


The Great Neck Public School District has again been named among the Best Communities for Music Education by the National Association of Music Merchants (NAMM) Foundation, a coalition of music and educational organizations. This year marks the 11th time that Great Neck has received this prestigious award since its inception in 2005. Great Neck joins 526 districts nationwide to receive this recognition.

The Best Communities designation is earned by districts that demonstrate an exceptionally high commitment and access to music education. The award program recognizes outstanding efforts by teachers, administrators, parents, students and community leaders who have made music education part of the curriculum. Selection was based on answers to a survey, in cooperation with researchers at the Music Research Institute at the University of Kansas.

Great Neck’s proud music faculty include Fine and Performing Arts Department Head Neil Saggerson, Dr. Janine Robinson and Joseph Rutkowski at North High; Performing Arts Department Head Michael Schwartz, Mark Boschen, Dr. Pamela Levy and Anthony Virgilio at South High; Department Head Matthew Trinkwald, Robin Golub, Arielle Murdocco and Anthony Virgilio at North Middle; Department Head Alan Schwartz, Mark Boschen and Shelley Willcox at South Middle; Anne Fogarty, Cynthia Gorney, Alexander Swerdlin and Jacquelyn Tomlet at Baker; Amy Kempton and Korey Terranova at Kennedy; Juan Garcia, Robert Pietromonaco and Jacquelyn Tomlet at Lakeville; Robin Golub at Parkville; and Chad Lasky and Dr. Christopher Wilson at Saddle Rock.

Leave a Reply