North High School Students Win Prestigious Awards


The John L. Miller-Great Neck North High School presented two prestigious awards at its graduation ceremony—the Alan L. Gleitsman Outstanding Graduate Award and the Genelle Taney Memorial Award.

The late Alan Gleitsman, a 1947 graduate of then-Great Neck High School, established the Alan L. Gleitsman Outstanding Graduate Award in 1988 to be given annually to a North High School graduating senior. Gleitsman winners must place within the top 10 percent of their graduating class, uphold a high level of quality involvement in student activities, be dedicated to the school and the well-being of fellow students and have a commitment to pursue further education on the college level.

Mina Nabavian

Mina Nabavian is the winner of the 2021 Gleitsman Award. Nabavian was featured previously as the North High Valedictorian.

Genelle B. Taney was a 2003 North High graduate who died at age 19, after a long and courageous battle with cancer. Taney was the 2003 Gleitsman Award recipient and is remembered for her “unsurpassed love of knowledge, a dedication to the arts, a passion for athletics and an endless commitment to the betterment of her school and her fellow classmates.” The Taney Award recipient should possess a combination of these qualities. The award is based solely on merit. One quarter of the award must be contributed by the recipient to a charity of his/her choice, subject to the approval of the award trustees. The award was established in Taney’s memory in 2006.

Arabella Notar-Francesco

Arabella Notar-Francesco is the winner of the 2021 Taney Award.


Notar-Francesco was president of the North High chapter of the Tri-M Music Honor Society, president of Junior Players, co-founder and president of the school’s Book Club and a chairperson for the New York State Thespian Board. She tutored younger students as a Peer Mentor and served as a Peer Leader. Arabella was a member of the orchestra and a varsity athlete on the volleyball team. Notar-Francesco will attend Boston University.

—Submitted by Great Neck Public Schools

Leave a Reply