Residents Honored At Fire Marshal’s Staff Awards Ceremony

Rabinowitz is pictured with retiring Chief Fire Marshal Scott Tusa. (Photo courtesy of the Office of Legislator Ellen W. Birnbaum)

Nassau County Legislator Ellen W. Birnbaum (D-Great Neck) recently joined Nassau County Executive Laura Curran and her colleagues in government at the Office of the Fire Marshal’s annual staff awards ceremony. Hosted at Hicksville Fire Department Station 3, the ceremony is annually held to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of staff in the Fire Marshal’s Office, Fire Communications Bureau and the Fire/Police EMS academy.

During the ceremony, Birnbaum presented a Certificate of Appreciation to Great Neck resident and Fire Marshal Keith Rabinowitz, who received the Meritorious Service Award for extinguishing a vehicle fire and removing victims on March 9, 2020. Birnbaum also presented a Certificate of Appreciation to Chief Fire Marshal Scott Tusa, who is retiring with 33 years of service in the Office of the Fire Marshal and eight years as Chief Fire Marshal.

“Fire marshal Keith Rabinowitz’s heroic actions at the dawn of the COVID-19 pandemic are emblematic of the selfless service performed by so many first responders throughout some of the most challenging times in our County’s history,” Birnbaum said.

Leave a Reply