GN Schools Among The Best For Music Education


music2The Great Neck Public School District has been named among the Best Communities for Music Education by the National Association of Music Merchants (NAMM) Foundation, a coalition of music and educational organizations, for the 10th time since the award’s inception in 2005. Great Neck joins 476 districts nationwide in receiving this prestigious award.

The Best Communities designation is awarded to districts that demonstrate outstanding achievement in efforts to provide music access and education to all students and recognize the importance of keeping music ed part of the core education for all students. The award also highlights music’s vital role in students’ overall success in school.

Selection was based on answers to a survey about funding, graduation requirements, music class participation, instruction time, facilities, support for the music program and community music-making programs.

Great Neck’s music faculty includes Fine & Performing Arts Department Head Neil Saggerson, Janine Robinson and Joseph Rutkowski at North High; Performing Arts Department Head Michael Schwartz, Mark Boschen, Dr. Pamela Levy and Anthony Virgilio at South High; Department Head Matthew Trinkwald, Arielle Murdocco and Jacquelyn Tomlet at North Middle; Department Head Alan Schwartz, Mark Boschen and Shelley Willcox at South Middle; Anne Fogarty, Cynthia Gorney and Alexander Swerdlin at Baker; Amy Kempton and Korey Terranova at Kennedy; Juan Garcia, Robin Golub, Jennifer Hood and Robert Pietromonaco at Lakeville; Robin Golub at Parkville; and Chad Lasky and Dr. Christopher Wilson at Saddle Rock.

—Submitted by Great Neck Public Schools

Leave a Reply