Great Neck Schools Vacations

0
676

The Great Neck Public Schools Board of Education set the school calendar for the 2015-2016 school year. The 184-school day calendar was approved at the Board of Education’s Dec. 15, public action meeting.

Teachers report 184 days. If the schools are closed for more than three inclement weather days, the make-up days are May 27, March 28 and April 22.

The first day of the school year for students is Tuesday, Sept. 1. There is a teachers’ conference day on Monday, Aug. 31. Labor Day recess is Monday, Sept. 7.

School is closed for Rosh Hashanah on Monday, Sept. 14 and Tuesday, Sept. 15. School is also closed for Yom Kippur on Tuesday, Sept. 22.

For October, school is closed for Columbus Day on Monday, Oct. 12.

In November, school is closed for students for a superintendent’s day on Tuesday, Nov. 3. Also in November, school is closed for Veterans Day on Wednesday, Nov. 11 and closed for Thanksgiving recess on Thursday and Friday, Nov. 26 and 27.

Holiday recess is from Thursday, Dec. 24 through Friday, Jan. 1. Also in January 2015, school is closed for Martin Luther King Day on Monday, Jan. 18.

Winter recess is from Monday, Feb. 15 through Friday, Feb. 19, 2016.

For 2016, there is an early spring recess from Friday, March 25, through Monday, March 28. Late spring recess is from Friday, April 22, through Friday, April 29. The 2016 Memorial Day holiday is Friday, May 27, through Monday, May 30.

The students’ last day of school for the 2015-2016 school year is Thursday, June 23. Friday, June 25 is a superintendent’s conference day.

Leave a Reply